Skip to main content
Home2019 Legislative Session

2019 Legislative Session News

The 86th Regular Session of the Texas Legislature convened on January 8, 2019. 

On the first day of session, the Texas House of Representatives elected Representative Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton) as Speaker of the House of Representatives. 

The Senate convened and elected Senator Kirk Watson as President Pro Tempore. Lt. Governor Dan Patrick is the presiding officer of the Senate.

General Information

The House of Representatives website is
The Senate website is

You can follow bills through the legislative process using the Texas Legislature Online website:

Do you want to watch proceedings live? Click here for the Senate and here for the House. This will list both floor debate and committee hearings. 

Committees announced! 
Lt. Governor Patrick released committee assignments. You can view the complete list here

Speaker Bonnen released committee assignments on January 23. You can view the list by member or by committee.

Eminent Domain
Chairman Lois Kolkhorst and Representative Dewayne Burns filed SB 421 and HB 991, respectively, that will provide eminent domain reform.

The bills provide 3 main reforms: 
 - a public meeting in each county the project will pass through
 - minimum easement requirements
 - additional compensation for "low ball" initial offers
Also included in the bill are insurance and ex parte communication requirements. 


Just because they are listed here does not mean TLMA will take a formal position on the bill. (This is a work in progress. Please check back for detailed updates.)

Eminent Domain
HB 991/SB 421
HB 1157
HB 1245
HB 1246
HB 1253
HB 1987
HB 2831
HB 2862
HB 3327
HB 3822
HB 3939
HB 4069
HB 4154
HB 4156
HB 4573
HB 4618
SB 552
SB 553
SB 554
SB 555
SB 2147
SB 2207
SB 2276
SJR 61

Property Rights
SB 1372
HB 2470
HB 4423
SB 1436
SB 1437
SB 1610
SB 1943
SB 2149

Oil and Gas
HB 1044
HB 1147
HB 3226
HB 3246
HB 3372
HB 3865
HB 4001
HB 4280
HB 4382
SB 925
SB 1156
SB 1999

HB 857
HB 858 
HB 859

HB 298
HB 3067
HB 3995
HB 3998
SB 1836

House Energy Resources Committee
Chairman Chris Paddie
Vice-Chairman Abel Herrero
Rep. Rafael Anchia
Rep. Ernest Bailes
Rep. Tom Craddick
Rep. Drew Darby
Rep. Charlie Geren
Rep. Roland Gutierrez
Rep. Cody Harris
Rep. Mary Ann Perez
Rep. Jon Rosenthal

House Land & Resource Management Committee
Chairman Tom Craddick
Vice-Chairman Sergio Munoz, Jr.
Rep. Cecil Bell
Rep. Kyle Biedermann
Rep. Terry Canales
Rep. Ben Leman
Rep. Ina Minjarez
Rep. Jonathan Stickland
Rep. Shawn Thierry

Senate Natural Resources & Economic Development Committee
Chairman Brian Birdwell
Vice-Chairman Judith Zaffirini
Senator Pat Fallon
Senator Pete Flores
Senator Kelly Hancock
Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa
Senator Bryan Hughes
Senator Borris Miles
Senator Angela Paxton
Senator Beverly Powell
Senator Jose Rodriguez

Senate State Affairs Committee
Chairman Joan Huffman
Vice-Chairman Bryan Hughes
Senator Brian Birdwell
Senator Brandon Creighton
Senator Pat Fallon
Senator Bob Hall
Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
Senator Jane Nelson
Senator Judith Zaffirini