Skip to main content
HomeAbout TLMA



The Texas Land & Mineral Owners Association firmly believes we can have a healthy and productive oil and gas industry in Texas without sacrificing your private property rights or the integrity of Texas lands.

Since the beginning of the shale plays, Texans' property rights regarding surface and mineral ownership are being assaulted on a very regular basis at all levels of government. What happens at the state legislature, at the Railroad Commission of Texas, and in the courts directly affects your assets—your land, your minerals, your rights. 
But you have a family, a job, a life. You do not have time to constantly follow the antics of those at work in Austin.

TLMA works for you by providing one united voice for all members - advocating for common-sense laws and regulations that do not discourage oil and gas development, but that insist on respect for the private property rights of land and mineral owners.

TLMA actively seeks positive change and also defends against further erosion of your rights. Whether its for plugging abandoned wells, protecting landowners faced with eminent domain action, or preserving groundwater ownership, TLMA pays attention to what is happening in Austin so you do not have to.

TLMA is a nonpartisan association, and it is not affiliated with a political action committee (PAC). None of TLMA's revenue goes to support political candidates or campaigns.

The association engages in direct advocacy to achieve its mission of
  • » a business and legal environment that promotes a healthy oil and gas industry in Texas by ensuring that the rights of mineral and surface owners are protected;
  • » a reduction in litigation; and
  • » the protection of our precious groundwater resources.

Board of Directors

  • Chairman Carolyn Frost Keenan - Keenan Family Interests
  • Vice-Chairman John D. Alexander, Jr. - King Ranch
  • Treasurer Barry Coates Roberts - Coates Energy Trust
  • James C. "Jimmy" Broussard - J.E. Broussard Heirs O&G, LP, and LaBelle Properties, Ltd.
  • Scott Petty, Jr. - Petty Ranch Company
  • Lica Pinkston - Santa Fe Ranch
  • George Tanner - Cuatro Estrellas, Ltd.
  • James P. "Rick" Walker, Sr. - Huisache Cattle Co., Ltd.
  • R. Neal Wilkins - East Foundation
  • District Representatives

  • South Central Texas - Trey Scott, San Antonio
  • North Texas - John S. Baen, Ph.D., Denton
  • Panhandle - Kimberley K. McTee, Amarillo
  • Central Texas - Tom Daniel, Austin
  • Advisory Directors

    Joseph B.C. Fitzsimons
    John B. McFarland
    Howard P. Newton
    George J. Person
    Dr. Kitty-Sue Quinn

  • Honorary Directors

  • The Honorable Dolph Briscoe
  • Jack Hunt
  • Roger Welder
  • J.A. Whittenburg, III
  • The Honorable Cullen Looney
  • Doug Beveridge
  • Chaunce Thompson, Jr.
    Morgan Dunn O'Connor