Skip to main content


Since the beginning of the shale plays, your private property rights regarding surface and mineral ownership are being assaulted on a very regular basis at all levels of government. What happens at the state legislature, at the Railroad Commission of Texas, and in the courts directly affects your assets—your land, your minerals, your private property rights. The reality is that things will get worse without someone diligently working to counteract this constant assault. You have a family, a job, and a life. You do not have time to constantly follow the antics of those at work in Austin.

Whether its for plugging abandoned wells, protecting landowners faced with eminent domain action, or preserving groundwater ownership, the Texas Land and Mineral Owners Association works for you and for all Texans, to unite your voices to protect your rights.


About TLMA

TLMA was created in 1999 by 54 founding members who wanted to level the playing field, to reinstate a sense of fairness in the relationship between those that use the land and those who live on it. Its formation is a reflection of the very significant deterioration in those rights as a result of political trends, regulatory and legislative actions, and court decisions.
TLMA is a nonpartisan association, and it is not affiliated with a political action committee (PAC). None of TLMA's revenue, which all comes from membership dues, goes to support political candidates or campaigns.
The association engages in direct advocacy to achieve
  • » a business and legal environment that promotes a healthy oil and gas industry in Texas by ensuring that the rights of mineral and surface owners are protected;
  • » a reduction in litigation; and
  • » the protection of our precious groundwater resources.
  • Board of Directors

    • Chairman - Carolyn Frost Keenan - Keenan Family Interests
    • Vice Chairman - Morgan Dunn O'Connor - Bissett Ranch Partnership
    • Treasurer - Barry Coates Roberts - Coates Energy Trust
    • Director - John D. Alexander, Jr. - King Ranch
    • Director - James C. "Jimmy" Broussard - J.E. Broussard Heirs O&G, LP, and LaBelle Properties, Ltd.
    • Director - Scott Petty, Jr. - Petty Ranch Company
    • Director - Lica Pinkston - Santa Fe Ranch
    • Director - George Tanner - Cuatro Estrellas, Ltd.
    • Director - James P "Rick" Walker, Sr. - Huisache Cattle Co., Ltd.

    Regional Vice Presidents

    • South Central Texas - Trey Scott, San Antonio
    • North Texas - John S. Baen, Ph.D., Denton
    • Panhandle - Kimberley K. McTee, Amarillo
    • Central Texas - Tom Daniel, Austin